VTD Vakuumtechnik Dresden GmbH
Niedersedlitzer Straße 75
01257 Dresden

Phone:+49 351 - 2805-0
Fax:+49 351 - 2805-240
E-Mail:vtd@wir-wollen-keinen-spam-federalmogul.com

Metallisation - technology


The surface metallisation technology comprises several stages which are carefully selected depending on the respective substrate and coating material as well as on the requirement profile. The use of a primer is recommended for many substrate materials so as to improve the coating adhesion.

The parts to be coated are fixed on a rotary cage in the vacuum chamber. They rotate around the evaporator unit once or several times if they are borne by so-called planetary wheels during the deposition process. Partial areas not to be metallised are masked.

After closing the vacuum chamber the plant is evacuated to a pressure of approx. 1 to 5 x 10-4 mbar. Coating is mostly preceded by treating the parts in a glow plasma which is ignited in the fine vacuum range of approx. 2 to 8 x 10-2. The coating material is usually evaporised by resistance-heated sources (helical filament / boat).
Schiffchen und Wendel
Metals such as Al, Cu, CrNi, Sn, Ag, Au, though also compounds such as ZnS, MgF2 and SiOx can be used as material to be evaporated. In addition to resistance-heated sources, magnetron sputter sources are available for the deposition of metals such as Al, Cu and particularly stainless steel and chromium. These sources are mainly employed in short-cycle systems.

The typical film thickness ranges from 50 nanometres (0.00005 mm) to several micrometres as with electro-magnetic shielding coatings (EMC), for example, depending on the application.

The deposited coating can be protected against mechanical damage or oxidation with a HMDS polymer coating by plasma polymerisation. In addition to this vacuum procedure, lacquers are also used as a protective coating in practice.

The different metallisation coatings are employed in the following fields:

Al coating


Mirrors, luminaires, reflectors, louvers, packaging film, jewellery, toys, fittings, sanitary appliances. A subsequent treatment with a colourless or coloured transparent lacquer enhances the usability.

Al coating with a smudge-proof protective layer (HMDS)


Vehicle headlamps, lighting, optical components

Cu and Al coating


EMC coating on electrical, electronic, communication components

Ni-Cr and Sn coating


Protective layer for Cu EMC coating, decorative metal coating (Ni-Cr)

Au and Ag coating


Mirrors for optical applications, protective layer for a Cu coating or decorative coating for fashion and jewellery articles, household items and articles of everyday use, decorative parts, trims in automotive and sanitary engineering

MgF2 coating


Protective layer for aluminium; hydrophilic (SiO) coating (wettability) in automotive or lighting engineering

VTD Vakuumtechnik Dresden GmbH
Niedersedlitzer Straße 75
01257 Dresden

Tel:0351 - 2805-0
Fax:0351 - 2805-240
E-Mail:vtd@wir-wollen-keinen-spam-federalmogul.com

Metallisierung - Technologie


Die Technologie der Metallisierung von Produktoberflächen besteht aus mehreren Teilschritten, die entsprechend Substrat-, Schichtmaterial und Anforderungsprofil sorgfältig ausgewählt werden. Bei vielen Substratmaterialien ist der Einsatz eines Primers zur Verbesserung der Schichthaftung zu empfehlen.

Die zu beschichtenden Teile werden in der Vakuumkammer auf einem Drehkorb befestigt und rotieren während der Bedampfung um die Verdampfereinheit in Einfach- ,oder auf sogenannten Planeten befestigt, in Mehrfachrotation. Teilbereiche, die nicht metallisiert werden sollen, sind durch Masken abgedeckt.

Nach dem Schließen der Vakuumkammer erfolgt die Evakuierung der Anlage auf einen Druck von ca. 1 ... 5 x 10-4 mbar. Meist wird der anschließenden Beschichtung eine Behandlung der Teile im Glimmplasma, welches im Feinvakuumbereich von etwa 2...8 x 10-2 gezündet wird, vorgeschaltet. Die Verdampfung des Schichtmaterials erfolgt standardmäßig mit widerstandsbeheizten Quellen (Wendel/ Schiffchen).
Schiffchen und Wendel
Verdampfermaterial können Metalle wie Al, Cu, CrNi, Sn, Ag, Au aber auch Verbindungen wie ZnS, MgF2 und SiOx sein. Neben den widerstandsbeheizten Quellen stehen Magnetronsputterquellen zur Abscheidung von Metallen, wie Al, Cu und insbesondere Edelstahl und Chrom, zur Verfügung. Diese Quellen werden hauptsächlich in den Kurztaktanlagen eingesetzt.

Die typische Schichtdicke liegt je nach Anwendungsfall, im Bereich von 50 Nanometern (0,00005 mm) bis zu einigen Mikrometern, z. B. bei elektromagnetischen Abschirmschichten (EMV).

Es ist möglich, die abgeschiedene Schicht vor mechanischer Beschädigung oder Oxidation mit einer HMDS-Polymerschicht durch eine Plasmapolymerisation zu schützen. Neben diesem Vakuumverfahren sind in der Praxis auch Lacke als Schutzschicht verbreitet.

Folgende Einsatzgebiete bieten die verschiedenen Metallisierungen:

Al - Beschichtung


für Spiegel, Leuchten, Reflektoren, kosmetische Verpackungen, Lichtraster, Verpackungsfolie, Bijouteriewaren, Spielzeug, Beschlagteile, Sanitärteile. Eine Nachbehandlung mit Klar- bzw. transparentem Farblack erhöht die Gebrauchseigenschaft.

Al-Beschichtung mit wischfester Schutzschicht (HMDS)


für Fahrzeugscheinwerfer, Beleuchtung, optische Bauteile

Cu-, Al-Beschichtung


als EMV-Schicht auf Elektro-, Elektronik-, Kommunikationstechnik

Ni-Cr-, Sn-Beschichtung


Schutzschicht für Cu-EMV-Schicht, als dekorative Metallschicht (Ni-Cr)

Au-, Ag-Beschichtung


Spiegel für optische Anwendungen, als Schutzschicht für eine Cu-Schicht oder als dekorative Schicht für Mode- und Schmuckwaren, für Haushalts- und Gebrauchsgüter, Dekorationsteile, Zierteile beim Automobilbau sowie Sanitärtechnik

MgF2-Beschichtung


als Schutzschicht für Aluminium, als hydrophile (SiO) Beschichtung (Benetzbarkeit) im Fahrzeugbau oder der Beleuchtungstechnik